Sound Clips
Track 1-

House Of Many Nations

Track 2-

Your Shoes

Track 3-

Grace Of God

Track 4-

Loss Of Innocence

Track 5-

Frozen Heart

Track 6-

Two Wrongs

Track 7-

Water Now The Seed

Track 8-

Here Comes The Future

Track 9-


Track 10-

One Heart

Track 11-

We Did Nothing Wrong

Track 12-

I'm In Heaven Again

Track 13-

Every Day Hurts (bonus trk)

To purchase please click here

PAUL YOUNG - Chronicles


Release date: 28th March 2011
Catalogue number: ESM223
Barcode: 503128100223 5

“Your Shoes” will be released as a single in March 2011 in the UK
"Two Wrongs” will be released as a single in March 2011 in Europe

01 House of many nations
02 Your shoes
03 Grace of God (duet with Paul Carrack)
04 Loss of innocence
05 Frozen Heart
06 Two wrongs
07 Water now the seed
08 Here comes the future
09 Everything
10 One heart
11 We did nothing wrong
12  I'm in heaven again

13 Everyday Hurts Recorded Live with Mike and The Mechanics (bonus track with first pressing only)


Paul was born in South Manchester, England in  June, 1947, and soon became a well-known and much loved “Wythenshawe lad”…

He formed his first group “Johnny Dark & the Midnights” in 1962 whilst still at school, and very quickly made a name for himself as a front man and lead singer… so much so that following an appearance at a local hall, he was invited to join the now legendary beat group “The Toggery Five”.

The Toggery Five were to share the same management as the then very famous “Hollies”, and they went on to sign with Parlaphone Records, and released two excellent singles, which are now both rare collectors’ items.

Paul later left the band and went on to form “PAUL YOUNG’S TOGGERY”, and then performed on the cabaret circuit with ex Toggery Five guitarist Frank Renshawe, as a double act…yes…they were called Young & Renshawe !

Paul was also a short time member of British beat group “The Measles” in 1968, and later became known in various cooperative bands such as Rhythm & Blues Incorporated, and The Electric Circus.

The early 1970’s saw Paul as a solo artist signed to CBS records, before teaming up with Ian Wilson from “GREASY BEAR” to form “GYRO” a popular local rock band on Manchester’s buzzing live music scene… GYRO were later to become involved with a project led by composer/engineer/producer Davy Rohl, who put together MANDALABAND and released two excellent albums featuring many Manchester musicians, including Paul and Ian. GYRO & MANDALABAND joined forces around 1977 and became one of Manchester’s best live bands SAD CAFÉ. The band released “FANX TA-RA” in 1977 to critical acclaim, and an extensive catalogue of material was to follow, most of which was penned by Paul, and several singles which “Everyday Hurts” climbed to the top of the charts and albums emerged from POLYDOR/A&M/CHRYSALIS/ and other record labels until the band finally broke up following “Politics Of Existing” in the mid 1980’s before he went on to join Mike Rutherford (Genesis), and become a full time member of “MIKE & THE MECHANICS” in 1985.

Paul was to remain with Mike and the Mechanics with many hits under his belt and tour the world until his untimely death in July 2000, following sudden heart failure.

A few years after he passed away, unfinished material he had been working on was recovered from his home studio, a total of thirty five songs, some of which have since been carefully recorded and completed by musician friends and collaborators who had known and worked with him… so now, after more than ten years, we are to hear these “NEW” recordings for the very first time released by “ESCAPE MUSIC”, which means that for Paul Young fans everywhere, the dream is still very much alive !

GEOFF “the chef” WILSON    Manchester  - 06 January 2011